United Nations

Convention on the Rights
of Persons with Disabilities

Distr.: General
20 November 2020
Original: English

Committee on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities

Decision adopted by the Committee under article 5
of the Optional Protocol, concerning communication
No. 73/2019*, **
Communication submitted by:

A.N.P. (not represented by counsel)

Alleged victim:

The author

State party:

South Africa

Date of communication:

19 September 2017 (initial submission)

Date of adoption of decision:

28 August 2020

Subject matter:

Tax rebates for persons with disabilities

Procedural issue:

Non-exhaustion of domestic remedies

Substantive issues:

Equality of opportunity; general obligations
under the Convention; equality under the law;
stereotypes, prejudices and harmful practices
relating to persons with disabilities; access to
support required in exercising legal capacity;
equal right to own or inherit property; access to
justice; prevention of subjection to torture or
cruel, inhuman or degrading treatment or
punishment; integrity of the person; adequate
standard of living; social protection

Articles of the Convention:

1, 3 (e), 4 (1) (d), 5 (1), 8 (1) (b), 12 (3) and (5),
13 (1), 15 (2), 17 and 28 (1) and (2)

Article of the Optional Protocol:

2 (d)

The author of the communication is A.N.P., a national of South Africa, born in 1951.
He claims to be the victim of a violation, by the State party, of his rights under articles 1, 3
(e), 4 (1) (d), 5 (1), 8 (1) (b), 12 (3) and (5), 13 (1), 15 (2), 17 and 28 (1) and (2) of the
Convention. The Optional Protocol to the Convention entered into force for the State party
on 30 December 2007. The author is not represented.

* Adopted by the Committee at its twenty-third session (17 August–11 September 2020).
** The following members of the Committee participated in the examination of the communication:
Ahmad Alsaif, Danlami Umaru Basharu, Monthian Buntan, Imed Eddine Chaker, Gertrude Oforiwa
Fefoame, Mara Cristina Gabrilli, Amalia Eva Gamio Ríos, Ishikawa Jun, Samuel Njuguna Kabue,
Kim Mi Yeon, László Gábor Lovászy, Robert George Martin, Dmitry Rebrov, Jonas Ruskus, Markus
Schefer and Risnawati Utami.



Select target paragraph3