CRPD/C/23/D/73/2019 United Nations Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities Distr.: General 20 November 2020 Original: English Committee on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities Decision adopted by the Committee under article 5 of the Optional Protocol, concerning communication No. 73/2019*, ** Communication submitted by: A.N.P. (not represented by counsel) Alleged victim: The author State party: South Africa Date of communication: 19 September 2017 (initial submission) Date of adoption of decision: 28 August 2020 Subject matter: Tax rebates for persons with disabilities Procedural issue: Non-exhaustion of domestic remedies Substantive issues: Equality of opportunity; general obligations under the Convention; equality under the law; stereotypes, prejudices and harmful practices relating to persons with disabilities; access to support required in exercising legal capacity; equal right to own or inherit property; access to justice; prevention of subjection to torture or cruel, inhuman or degrading treatment or punishment; integrity of the person; adequate standard of living; social protection Articles of the Convention: 1, 3 (e), 4 (1) (d), 5 (1), 8 (1) (b), 12 (3) and (5), 13 (1), 15 (2), 17 and 28 (1) and (2) Article of the Optional Protocol: 2 (d) 1. The author of the communication is A.N.P., a national of South Africa, born in 1951. He claims to be the victim of a violation, by the State party, of his rights under articles 1, 3 (e), 4 (1) (d), 5 (1), 8 (1) (b), 12 (3) and (5), 13 (1), 15 (2), 17 and 28 (1) and (2) of the Convention. The Optional Protocol to the Convention entered into force for the State party on 30 December 2007. The author is not represented. * Adopted by the Committee at its twenty-third session (17 August–11 September 2020). ** The following members of the Committee participated in the examination of the communication: Ahmad Alsaif, Danlami Umaru Basharu, Monthian Buntan, Imed Eddine Chaker, Gertrude Oforiwa Fefoame, Mara Cristina Gabrilli, Amalia Eva Gamio Ríos, Ishikawa Jun, Samuel Njuguna Kabue, Kim Mi Yeon, László Gábor Lovászy, Robert George Martin, Dmitry Rebrov, Jonas Ruskus, Markus Schefer and Risnawati Utami. GE.20-15676(E) 

Select target paragraph3