United Nations

International Covenant on
Civil and Political Rights

Distr.: General
20 January 2021
Original: French

Human Rights Committee

Decision adopted by the Committee under the Optional
Protocol, concerning communication No. 2970/2017*, **
Communication submitted by:

L.M.A. (represented by counsel, Myriam Roy

Alleged victims:

The author and her son C.C.

State party:


Date of communication:

28 March 2017 (initial submission)

Document references:

Decision taken pursuant to rule 92 of the
Committee’s rules of procedure, transmitted to
the State party on 30 March 2017 (not issued in
document form)

Date of adoption of decision:

23 July 2020

Subject matter:

Expulsion to Mauritania

Procedural issues:

Insufficient substantiation of claims;
incompatibility ratione materiae with the
provisions of the Covenant

Substantive issues:

Cruel, inhuman or degrading treatment or
punishment; effective remedy

Articles of the Covenant:

2, 6 and 7

Articles of the Optional Protocol:

2, 3 and 5 (2) (b)

The author of the communication is L.M.A., a Mauritanian national born in 1986. She
submitted the communication on her own behalf and on behalf of her minor son, C.C., a
Canadian national born in 2014. The author has been denied asylum in Canada and was
ordered to leave the country on 30 March 2017. She claims that being deported to Mauritania
with her son would constitute a violation of their rights under articles 6 and 7 of the Covenant,
as well as under article 2, read in conjunction with article 6. The author and her son are
represented by counsel, Myriam Roy L’Ecuyer of the law firm Stewart Istvanffy.
On 30 March 2017, in application of rule 94 of its rules of procedure, the Committee,
acting through its Special Rapporteur on new communications and interim measures, decided

* Adopted by the Committee at its 129th session (29 June–24 July 2020).
** The following members of the Committee participated in the examination of the communication:
Yadh Ben Achour, Arif Bulkan, Ahmed Amin Fathalla, Christof Heyns, Bamariam Koita, Duncan Laki
Muhumuza, Photini Pazartzis,Vasilka Sancin, José Manuel Santos Pais, Yuval Shany, Hélène
Tigroudja and Gentian Zyberi. In accordance with rule 108 of the Committee’s rules of procedure,
Marcia V.J. Kran did not participate in the examination of the communication.

GE.21-00740 (E)

280121 281021

Select target paragraph3