United Nations

International Covenant on
Civil and Political Rights

Distr.: General
26 April 2017
Original: English

Human Rights Committee

Views adopted by the Committee under article 5 (4)
of the Optional Protocol, concerning communication
No. 2253/2013*, **
Communication submitted by:

A.P.J. (represented by counsel)

Alleged victim:

The author

State party:


Date of communication:

10 June 2013 (initial submission)

Document references:

Decision taken pursuant to rule 97 of the
Committee’s rules of procedure, transmitted to
the State party on 12 June 2013 (not issued in
document form)

Date of adoption of Views:

16 March 2017

Subject matters:

Torture; cruel, inhuman or degrading treatment
or punishment; deportation to the Islamic
Republic of Iran; freedom of expression; equality
before the law

Procedural issue:

Lack of substantiation

Substantive issues:

Torture; cruel, inhuman or degrading treatment
or punishment

Articles of the Covenant:

7, 19 and 26

Article of the Optional Protocol:


The author of the communication is A.P.J, a national of the Islamic Republic of Iran
born on 23 October 1981. He claims that his deportation to the Islamic Republic of Iran by
Denmark would constitute a violation of articles 7, 19 and 26 of the Covenant. He is
represented by counsel, Marianne Volund. The Optional Protocol entered into force for the
State party on 23 March 1976.
On 12 June 2013, pursuant to rule 92 of its rules of procedure, the Committee, acting
through its Special Rapporteur on new communications and interim measures, decided not
to issue a request for interim measures.
* Adopted by the Committee at its 119th session (6 March-29 March 2017).
** The following members of the Committee participated in the examination of the communication:
Tania María Abdo Rocholl, Yadh Ben Achour, Ilze Brands Kehris, Ahmed Amin Fathalla, Olivier de
Frouville, Christof Heyns, Yuji Iwasawa, Bamariam Koita, Marcia V.J. Kran, Duncan Laki
Muhumuza, Photini Pazartzis, Mauro Politi, José Manuel Santos Pais, Anja Seibert-Fohr, Yuval
Shany and Margo Waterval.



Select target paragraph3