CAT/C/61/D/654/2015 United Nations Convention against Torture and Other Cruel, Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment Distr.: General 3 October 2017 English Original: French Committee against Torture Decision adopted by the Committee under article 22 of the Convention, concerning communication No. 654/2015*, ** Communication submitted by: Rached Jaïdane, represented by Track Impunity Always (TRIAL) and Action des chrétiens pour l’abolition de la torture (ACAT-France) Alleged victim: The complainant State party: Tunisia Date of complaint: 7 January 2015 (initial submission) Date of present decision: 11 August 2017 Subject matter: Torture and ill-treatment by State authorities Procedural issues: None Substantive issues: Torture; cruel, inhuman or degrading treatment or punishment; measures to prevent the commission of acts of torture; systematic surveillance of the custody and treatment of detained persons; the obligation of the State party to ensure that the competent authorities proceed to a prompt and impartial investigation; the right to complain; the right to redress; the prohibition on the use in proceedings of statements made as a result of torture Articles of the Convention: 1, 2 and 11 to 16 1.1 The complainant is Rached Jaïdane, a Tunisian national born on 25 March 1963 in Tunis. He claims to be the victim of a violation by Tunisia of articles 1, 2 and 11 to 16 of the Convention. He is represented. The Convention entered into force for Tunisia on 23 October 1988. 1.2 On 27 January 2015, in accordance with rule 114 (1) of its rules of procedure, the Committee requested the State party to adopt effective measures, during the consideration of the complaint, to prevent any threats or acts of violence to which the complainant and his family might be exposed, particularly as a result of having lodged the present complaint, and to keep the Committee informed of the measures taken with that end in view. * Adopted by the Committee at its sixty-first session (24 July-11 August 2017). ** The following members of the Committee participated in the examination of the present communication: Essadia Belmir, Alessio Bruni, Felice Gaer, Claude Heller Rouassant, Jens Modvig, Ana Racu, Sébastien Touzé and Kening Zhang. GE.17-16785 (E) 101017 111017 

Select target paragraph3