United Nations

Convention against Torture
and Other Cruel, Inhuman
or Degrading Treatment
or Punishment

Distr.: General
13 September 2019
Original: English

Committee against Torture

Decision adopted by the Committee under article 22 of the
Convention, concerning communication No. 816/2017*, **
Communication submitted by:

X, Y and others

Alleged victims:

The complainants

State party:


Date of complaint:

23 March 2017

Document references:

Decision taken pursuant to rules 114 and 115 of
the Committee’s rules of procedure, transmitted
to the State party on 24 March 2017 (not issued
in document form)

Date of present decision:

2 August 2019

Subject matter:

Deportation from Sweden to Egypt

Substantive issues:

Risk of torture and ill-treatment

Procedural issues:

Level of substantiation of claims

Article of the Convention:


The complainants are X and Y, a married couple who are both Egyptian nationals.
They submit the complaint on their own behalf and on behalf of their five minor children.
They claim that the State party would violate their rights under article 3 of the Convention
if it removed them to Egypt. The complainants are not represented by counsel.
On 24 March 2017, acting through its Rapporteur on new complaints and interim
measures, the Committee decided to issue a request for interim measures under rule 114 (1)
of its rules of procedure and requested the State party not to deport the complainants to
Egypt while the communication was being considered by the Committee.
The facts as presented by the complainants
The complainants resided in the United Arab Emirates during the protests that took
place in Egypt in June 2013 which resulted in the overthrow of then President Mohamed
Morsi, the leader of the Muslim Brotherhood. The male complainant had supported Mr.
Morsi during the 2012 presidential elections in Egypt.

* Adopted by the Committee at its sixty-seventh session (22 July–9 August 2019).
** The following members of the Committee participated in the examination of the communication:
Essadia Belmir, Felice Gaer, Abdelwahab Hani, Claude Heller Rouassant, Jens Modvig, Ana Racu,
Diego Rodríguez-Pinzón, Sébastien Touzé and Bakhtiyar Tuzmukhamedov.



Select target paragraph3