CCPR/C/130/D/2400/2014 United Nations International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights Distr.: General 23 February 2021 Original: English Human Rights Committee Views adopted by the Committee under article 5 (4) of the Optional Protocol, concerning communication No. 2400/2014*, ** Communication submitted by: Kochkonbay Bekbolot Uulu (represented by counsel, Sardar Bagishbekov) Alleged victim: The author State party: Kyrgyzstan Date of communication: 18 December 2012 (initial submission) Document references: Decision taken pursuant to rule 92 of the Committee’s rules of procedure, transmitted to the State party on 28 May 2014 (not issued in document form) Date of adoption of Views: 29 October 2020 Subject matter: Torture; arbitrary detention Procedural issues: None Substantive issues: Torture; lack of effective investigation; arbitrary detention Articles of the Covenant: 7, read alone and in conjunction with 2 (3) (a), 9 (1) and 14 (3) (g) Article of the Optional Protocol: 2 1. The author of the communication is Kochkonbay Bekbolot Uulu, a national of Kyrgyzstan born in 1990. He claims that the State party has violated his rights under article 7, read alone and in conjunction with article 2 (3) (a), and articles 9 (1) and 14 (3) (g) of the Covenant. The Optional Protocol entered into force for the State party on 7 January 1995. The author is represented by counsel. Facts as submitted by the author 2.1 On 4 December 2009, at 5.30 p.m., the author was arrested at his house by three police officers. He was handcuffed and taken to the Novopavlovka police station in Sokuluk district. At the police station, the author was taken to one of the rooms on the second floor and told * Adopted by the Committee at its 130th session (12 October–6 November 2020). ** The following members of the Committee participated in the examination of the communication: Yadh Ben Achour, Arif Bulkan, Ahmed Amin Fathalla, Furuya Shuichi, Christoph Heyns, Marcia V.J. Kran, David H. Moore, Duncan Laki Muhumuza, Photini Pazartzis, Hernán Quezada Cabrera, Vasilka Sancin, José Manuel Santos Pais, Yuval Shany, Hélène Tigroudja, Andreas Zimmermann and Gentian Zyberi. GE.21-02474(E)

Select target paragraph3