United Nations

International Covenant on
Civil and Political Rights

Distr.: General
14 August 2018
Original: English

Human Rights Committee

Decision adopted by the Committee under the Optional
Protocol, concerning communication No. 2249/2013*, **
Communication submitted by:

R.E. (not represented by counsel)

Alleged victim:

The author

State party:

Russian Federation

Date of communication:

20 December 2011 (initial submission)

Document references:

Decision taken pursuant to rule 97 of the
Committee’s rules of procedure, transmitted to
the State party on 11 June 2013 (not issued in
document form)

Date of adoption of decision:

19 July 2018

Subject matters:

Torture; forced confession; effective remedy

Procedural issue:

Exhaustion of domestic remedies

Substantive issues:

Torture; forced confession; effective remedy

Articles of the Covenant:

2 (3), 7 and 14 (3) (g)

Articles of the Optional Protocol:

2 and 5 (2) (b)

The author of the communication is R.E., a national of the Russian Federation born
on 25 June 1978. He claims that the State party has violated his rights under articles 2 (3), 7
and 14 (3) (g) of the Covenant. The Optional Protocol entered into force for the State party
on 1 January 1992. The author is not represented by counsel.
The facts as submitted by the author
On 3 May 2007, the author was interrogated at 3 p.m. at home about the death of his
mother, who had died earlier that day by falling down a flight of stairs at their house. He
provided written testimony that it was an accident and that she had tripped and fallen down
the stairs. At 10 p.m. on the same day, he was taken to the police station, where he was
beaten for one hour by a police officer whose surname was Voronin. He was then
interrogated by an investigator whose surname was Listarov, for 25 minutes, from 11.20
p.m. to 11.45 p.m. At the end of the interrogation, the author confessed to being drunk and
pushing his mother from the top of the stairs, then hitting and kicking her while she was on
* Adopted by the Committee at its 123rd session (2–27 July 2018).
** The following members of the Committee participated in the examination of the communication:
Tania María Abdo Rocholl, Yadh Ben Achour, Ilze Brands Kehris, Sarah Cleveland, Ahmed Amin
Fathalla, Olivier de Frouville, Christof Heyns, Bamariam Koita, Duncan Laki Muhumuza, Mauro
Politi, José Manuel Santos Pais, Yuval Shany and Margo Waterval.



Select target paragraph3