CCPR/C/114/D/2234/2013 Annex Views of the Human Rights Committee under article 5 (4) of the Optional Protocol to the International Covenant on Civil and Political rights (114th session) concerning Communication No. 2234/2013* Submitted by: M.T. (represented by counsel, the Redress Trust, and the International Federation for Human Rights) Alleged victim: The author State party: Uzbekistan Date of communication: 18 December 2012 (initial submission) The Human Rights Committee, established under article 28 of the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights, Meeting on 23 July 2015, Having concluded its consideration of communication No. 2234/2013, submitted to it under the Optional Protocol to the Covenant, Having taken into account all written information made available to it by the author of the communication and the State party, Adopts the following: Views under article 5 (4) of the Optional Protocol 1. The author of the communication is M.T., an Uzbek national, born in 1962. She has resided in France, where she was granted refugee status, since 15 March 2009. She is an independent journalist and founder of the O’tyuraklar human rights organization. She claims to be a victim of violations by Uzbekistan of article 2 (3) read separately and in conjunction with articles 7, 9 (1), (2) and (4), 10 (1) and (2) (a), 14 (1) and (3) (b) and (e) and (5), 19 (2), 21, 22 and 26. The author is represented by counsel.1 * The following members of the Committee participated in the examination of the present 1 2 communication: Yadh Ben Achour, Lazhari Bouzid, Sarah Cleveland, Olivier de Frouville, Ahmed Amin Fathalla, Yuji Iwasawa, Ivana Jelić, Duncan Laki Muhumuza, Photini Pazartzis, Mauro Politi, Sir Nigel Rodley, Víctor Manuel Rodríguez-Rescia, Fabián Omar Salvioli, Dheerujlall Seetulsingh, Anja Seibert-Fohr, Yuval Shany, Konstantine Vardzelashvili and Margo Waterval. The texts of an individual opinion of Committee member Dheerujlall Seetulsingh (partly dissenting) and individual opinion of Committee members Sarah Cleveland and Olivier de Frouville (concurring) are appended to the present Views. The Covenant and the Optional Protocol entered into force for the State party on 28 December 1995.

Select target paragraph3