CCPR/C/128/D/2710/2015 United Nations International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights Distr.: General 28 May 2020 Original: English Human Rights Committee Views adopted by the Committee under article 5 (4) of the Optional Protocol, concerning communication No. 2710/2015*, ** Communication submitted by: Shukurillo Osmonov (represented by counsel, Tair Asanov) Alleged victim: The author State party: Kyrgyzstan Date of communication: 16 October 2015 (initial submission) Document references: Decision taken pursuant to rule 92 of the Committee’s rules of procedure, transmitted to the State party on 23 December 2015 (not issued in document form) Date of adoption of Views: 10 March 2020 Subject matter: Torture of the author in police custody Procedural issues: None Substantive issues: Torture; prompt and impartial investigation Articles of the Covenant: 7, read alone and in conjunction with 2 (3) and 14 (3) (g) Articles of the Optional Protocol: None 1. The author of the communication is Shukurillo Osmonov, a Kyrgyz national of Uzbek ethnicity, born in 1985. He claims that Kyrgyzstan has violated his rights under article 7, read alone and in conjunction with articles 2 (3) and 14 (3) (g), of the Covenant. The Covenant and the Optional Protocol entered into force for Kyrgyzstan on 7 January 1995. The author is represented by counsel, the public fund “Golos Svobodi”. The facts as submitted by the author 2.1 On 10 June 2010, the author crossed the Kyrgyz-Uzbek border to visit his wife, who lives in Andijan, Uzbekistan. The next day, he was not allowed to cross the border to go back, due to the mass riots that had started in the city of Osh, Kyrgyzstan. Initially, he stayed at his relatives’ place; subsequently, he was placed in a refugee camp. He was only * Adopted by the Committee at its 128th session (2–27 March 2020). ** The following members of the Committee participated in the examination of the communication: Yadh Ben Achour, Arif Bulkan, Ahmed Amin Fathalla, Christof Heyns, Bamariam Koita, Marcia V.J. Kran, Duncan Laki Muhumuza, Photini Pazartzis, Hernán Quezada Cabrera, Vasilka Sancin, José Manuel Santos Pais, Yuval Shany, Hélène Tigroudja, Andreas Zimmermann and Gentian Zyberi. GE.20-07122(E) 

Select target paragraph3