United Nations

General Assembly

Distr.: General
23 April 2021
Original: English

Human Rights Council
Forty-sixth session
22 February–19 March 2021
Agenda item 3
Promotion and protection of all human rights, civil,
political, economic, social and cultural rights,
including the right to development

Torture and other cruel, inhuman or degrading treatment or
Report of the Special Rapporteur on torture and other cruel, inhuman
or degrading treatment or punishment, Nils Melzer

Paragraph 89
The paragraph should read
During the first four years of his tenure, the Special Rapporteur transmitted requests
for country visits to 57 Governments, of which 30 had issued a standing invitation.28 During
the same period, the mandate holder was proactively invited (i.e., without a request from the
mandate holder) by only one State (Burkina Faso), although the invitation was not
subsequently confirmed in writing.


Paragraph 90
The paragraph should read
Of the 57 Governments that received requests for a country visit, 35 (61 per cent)
never provided any response whatsoever (not even acknowledgement of receipt), including
14 States that had issued a standing invitation to the special procedures (Burundi, the
Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Honduras, India, Kenya, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi,
Mozambique, Nicaragua, Nigeria, Rwanda and South Africa). One or several follow-up
letters were sent to 14 of the said States (five of which had issued standing invitations,


Standing invitations have been extended by Argentina, Burundi, Comoros, the Dominican Republic,
Ecuador, Guatemala, Honduras, India, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Kenya, Lebanon, Lesotho, Libya,
Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mongolia, Mozambique, Nicaragua, Nigeria, Paraguay,
Rwanda, Serbia, South Africa, Spain, Thailand, Turkey, Ukraine and the United Kingdom of Great
Britain and Northern Ireland. The Special Rapporteur has submitted requests to Angola, Bahrain,
Bangladesh, Bhutan, Brunei Darussalam, Burkina Faso, China, Côte d’Ivoire, Cuba, the Democratic
Republic of the Congo, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Haiti, Indonesia, Israel, Mali, Namibia, the Philippines, the
Russian Federation, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Uganda, the United Arab Emirates, the United States of
America, Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of), Zimbabwe and Kosovo (any reference to which should
be understood to be in full compliance with Security Council resolution 1244 (1999) and without
prejudice to the status of Kosovo).


Select target paragraph3