CCPR/C/122/D/2595/2015 United Nations International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights Distr.: General 24 September 2018 Original: English Human Rights Committee Views adopted by the Committee under article 5 (4) of the Optional Protocol, concerning communication No. 2595/2015*, ** Communication submitted by: A.A. (represented by counsel, Niels-Erik Hansen) Alleged victim: The author State party: Denmark Date of communication: 8 April 2015 (initial submission) Document references: Decision taken pursuant to rule 97 of the Committee’s rules of procedure, transmitted to the State party on 9 April 2015 (not issued in document form) Date of adoption of Views: 22 March 2018 Subject matter: Deportation from Denmark to Egypt Procedural issue: Level of substantiation of claims Substantive issues: Risk to life and of torture or ill-treatment upon forced removal to country of origin Articles of the Covenant: 6 and 7 Article of the Optional Protocol: 2 1.1 The author of the communication is A.A., a national of Egypt born in 1988. The author is subject to deportation to Egypt following the rejection of his application for asylum by the Danish Refugee Appeals Board on 4 March 2015. He claims that his deportation would amount to a violation by Denmark of his rights under articles 6 and 7 of the Covenant. The Optional Protocol entered into force for Denmark on 23 March 1976. The author is represented by counsel. 1.2 On 9 April 2015, pursuant to rule 92 of its rules of procedure, the Committee, acting through its Special Rapporteur on new communications and interim measures, requested the State party not to deport the author to Egypt while his case was under consideration by the Committee. On 13 April 2015, the Refugee Appeals Board suspended his deportation from the State party until further notice, in compliance with the Committee’s request. * Adopted by the Committee at its 122nd session (12 March–6 April 2018). ** The following members of the Committee participated in the examination of the communication: Tania María Abdo Rocholl, Yadh Ben Achour, Ilze Brands Kehris, Sarah Cleveland, Olivier de Frouville, Christof Heyns, Ivana Jelić, Bamariam Koita, Marcia V.J. Kran, Duncan Laki Muhumuza, Photini Pazartzis, Mauro Politi, José Manuel Santos Pais, Yuval Shany and Margo Waterval. GE.18-15848(E) 

Select target paragraph3