United Nations

International Covenant on
Civil and Political Rights

Distr.: General
7 December 2017
Original: English

Human Rights Committee

Decision adopted by the Committee under article 5 (4)
of the Optional Protocol, concerning communication No.
2285/2013*, **, ***
Submitted by:

Basem Ahmed Issa Yassin et al. (represented by
counsels Bret Thiele, Michael Sfard and Emily

Alleged victims:

The authors

State party:


Date of communication:

28 February 2013 (initial submission)

Document references:

Decision taken pursuant to rule 97 of the
Committee’s rules of procedure, transmitted to
the State party on 27 August 2013 (not issued in
document form)

Date of adoption of decision:

26 July 2017

Subject matter:

Responsibility of the State for activities of
private enterprises

Procedural issues:

Lack of standing; incompatibility with provisions
of the Covenant; non-substantiation of claims

Substantive issues:

Restrictions to freedom of movement; unlawful
interference with the home; deprivation of the
right to enjoy one’s own culture

Articles of the Covenant:

7, 12 (1), 17 and 27

Articles of the Optional Protocol:

1 and 2

The authors of the communication are Basem Ahmed Issa Yassin, born in 1977 in
the Palestinian village of Bil’in; Maysaa Ahmed Issa Yassin, born in 1978 in Bil’in;
Lamyaa Ahmed Issa Yassin, born in 1982 in Jerusalem; Nora Ahmed Issa Yassin, born in
1983 in Jerusalem; Tagreed Ahmed Issa Yassin, born in 1985 in Bil’in; Mohammed Ahmed
Issa Yassin, born in 1989 in Bil’in; Abdullah Ahmed Issa Yassin, born in 1991 in Bil’in;

* Adopted by the Committee at its 120th session (3–28 July 2017).
** The following members of the Committee participated in the examination of the present
communication: Tania Abdo Rocholl, Yadh Ben Achour, Ilze Brands Kehris, Sarah Cleveland,
Ahmed Fathalla, Olivier de Frouville, Christof Heyns, Yuji Iwasawa, Bamariam Koita, Duncan Laki
Muhumuza, Photini Pazartzis, Mauro Politi, José Manuel Santos Pais and Margo Waterval.
*** A joint opinion by Committee members Olivier de Frouville and Yadh Ben Achour (concurring) is
annexed to the present decision.






Select target paragraph3