CCPR/C/123/D/2785/2016 United Nations International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights Distr.: General 16 August 2019 Original: English Human Rights Committee Views adopted by the Committee under article 5 (4) of the Optional Protocol, concerning communication No. 2785/2016*, ** Communication submitted by: Ahmed Khaleel (represented by counsel, Mr. Ahmed Shaheed) Alleged victim: Hussain Humaam Ahmed State party: Maldives Date of communication: 11 July 2016 (initial submission) Document references: Decision taken pursuant to rules 92 and 97 of the Committee’s rules of procedure, transmitted to the State party on 12 July 2016 (not issued in document form) Date of adoption of Views: 27 July 2018 Subject matters: Death penalty sentence after an unfair trial Procedural issues: Exhaustion of domestic remedies, consideration by another international procedure Substantive issues: Right to life; fair trial Articles of the Covenant: 6, 7 and 14 Articles of the Optional Protocol: 2 and 5 1.1 The author of the communication, received on 11 July 2016, is Ahmed Khaleel, a national of Maldives. He submits the communication on behalf of his son, Humaam Ahmed, also a Maldivian national, who is currently detained in prison, having been sentenced to the death penalty. Mr. Humaam’s death sentence was confirmed by the Supreme Court of Maldives on 24 June 2016, with the penalty to be carried out within 30 days of the decision. The author claims that the State party would violate Mr. Humaam’s rights under articles 6, 7 and 14 of the Covenant if the execution were carried out. The Optional Protocol entered into force for the State party on 19 September 2006. The author is represented by counsel. 1.2 When submitting the communication, the author requested that the Committee issue a request for interim measures of protection asking the State party not to carry out Mr. Humaam’s death sentence pending the consideration of the present case by the Committee. * Adopted by the Committee at its 123rd session (2–27 July 2018). ** The following members of the Committee participated in the examination of the communication: Tania María Abdo Rocholl, Yadh Ben Achour, Ilze Brands Kehris, Sarah Cleveland, Ahmed Amin Fathalla, Olivier de Frouville, Christof Heyns, Bamariam Koita, Marcia V. J. Kran, Duncan Laki Muhumuza, Mauro Politi, José Manuel Santos Pais, Yuval Shany and Margo Waterval. GE.19-13954(E) 

Select target paragraph3