United Nations

International Covenant on
Civil and Political Rights

Distr.: General
16 May 2017
Original: English

Human Rights Committee

Views adopted by the Committee under article 5 (4) of the
Optional Protocol, concerning communication No.
2602/2015*, **
Communication submitted by:


Alleged victims:

The author, A.H. and their three minor children

State party:


Date of communication:

15 February 2015 (initial submission)

Document references:

Decision taken pursuant to rule 97 of the
Committee’s rules of procedure, transmitted to
the State party on 29 April 2015 (not issued in
document form)

Date of adoption of Views:

27 March 2017

Subject matter:

Deportation to Albania

Substantive issues:

Right to life; right to freedom of movement; right
not to be subjected to arbitrary or unlawful
interference with privacy and home

Procedural issues:

Failure to substantiate claims, and compatibility
ratione materiae and ratione loci

Articles of the Covenant:

6, 12 and 17

Articles of the Optional Protocol:

2 and 3

The author of the communication is Z.H., a national of Albania born in 1976, who
submits it on behalf of himself, his wife, A.H., a national of Albania born in 1987, and their
three minor children, born in 2005, 2010 and 2013, respectively. The family’s asylum
application in Denmark was rejected by the Refugee Appeals Board on 25 February 2015
and they now risk deportation. The author claims that their deportation to Albania would
amount to a violation by Denmark of articles 6, 12 and 17 of the Covenant. The Optional
Protocol to the Covenant entered into force for Denmark on 23 March 1976. The author is
not represented by counsel.

* Adopted by the Committee at its 119th session (6-29 March 2017).
** The following Committee members participated in the examination of the communication: Tania
Abdo Rocholl, Yadh Ben Achour, Ilze Brands Kehris, Sarah Cleveland, Ahmed Amin Fathalla,
Olivier de Frouville, Christof Heyns, Yuji Iwasawa, Bamariam Koita, Marcia V.J. Kran, Duncan Laki
Muhumuza, Photini Pazartzis, Mauro Politi, Anja Seibert-Fohr, Yuval Shany and Margo Waterval.



Select target paragraph3