United Nations

International Covenant on
Civil and Political Rights

Distr.: General
22 December 2017
Original: English

Human Rights Committee

Views adopted by the Committee under article 5 (4) of the
Optional Protocol, concerning communication No.
2643/2015*, **
Communication submitted by:

M.P. (represented by counsel, Eddie Omar
Rosenberg Khawaja)

Alleged victims:

The author and her two minor children

State party:


Date of communication:

13 August 2015 (initial submission)

Document references:

Decision taken pursuant to rules 92 and 97 of the
Committee’s rules of procedure, transmitted to
the State party on 17 August 2015 (not issued in
document form)

Date of adoption of Views:

9 November 2017

Subject matter:

Author’s deportation from Denmark to Sri Lanka

Procedural issues:

Inadmissibility — manifestly unfounded; level of
substantiation of claims

Substantive issues:

Risk of torture or ill-treatment upon forced
removal to country of origin

Articles of the Covenant:

7 and 13

Articles of the Optional Protocol:

2, 3 and 5 (2) (a) and (b)

The author of the communication is M.P.,1 born on 29 July 1976. She submits the
communication on her behalf and on behalf of her two minor children, A.M.P. (born on 11
March 2003) and A.N.P. (born on 24 August 2005). They are all citizens of Sri Lanka. The
author and her children are subject to forcible removal to Sri Lanka following the rejection
of their application for asylum by the Danish Refugee Appeals Board on 20 June 2013 and
on 22 June 2015. They have been living in Denmark at the Sandholm asylum centre in
Birkerød while awaiting removal. 2 The author claims that their forcible removal to Sri
Lanka would amount to a violation by Denmark of her rights and the rights of her children
* Adopted by the Committee at its 121st session (16 October–10 November 2017).
** The following members of the Committee participated in the examination of the communication:


Yadh Ben Achour, Ilze Brands Kehris, Sarah Cleveland, Olivier de Frouville, Christof Heyns, Yuji
Iwasawa, Ivana Jelić, Bamariam Koita, Marcia V.J. Kran, Photini Pazartzis, Mauro Politi, José
Manuel Santos Pais, Anja Seibert-Fohr, Yuval Shany and Margo Waterval.
The author requests the Committee not to disclose her identity or that of her two minor children.
The date of the author’s removal had not been set at the time of the submission of her initial



Select target paragraph3