CCPR/C/132/D/2361/2014 United Nations International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights Distr.: General 6 December 2021 Original: English Advance unedited version Human Rights Committee Views adopted by the Committee under article 5 (4) of the Optional Protocol, concerning communication No. 2361/2014*,** Communication submitted by: Igor Postnov (not represented by counsel) Alleged victim: The author State party: Belarus Date of communication: 22 February 2014 (initial submission) Document references: Decision taken pursuant to rule 92 of the Committee’s rules of procedure, transmitted to the State party on 21 March 2014 (not issued in document form) Date of adoption of Views: 19 July 2021 Subject matter: Unlawful involuntary medical confinement of the author resulting in torture Procedural issue: Exhaustion of domestic remedies Substantive issues: Torture; cruel, inhuman or degrading treatment or punishment; liberty and security of person, fair and public hearing, privacy, freedom of expression, discrimination Articles of the Covenant: 2(1) and (3), 7, 9(1), 10(1), 14(1), 15(2), 17(1) and (2), 19 and 26 Articles of the Optional Protocol: 2, 5 (2) (b) 1.1 The author of the communication is Igor Postnov, a national of Belarus born in 1968. He claims that the State party violated his rights under articles 2(1) and (3), 7, 9(1), 10(1), 14(1), 15(2), 17(1) and (2), 19 and 26, of the Covenant. The Optional Protocol entered into force for Belarus on 30 December 1992. The author is not represented by counsel. 1.2 On 23 July 2014, pursuant to rule 93 (1) of the Committee’s rules of procedure, the State party requested the Committee to examine the admissibility of the communication separately from its merits. On 17 September 2014, pursuant to rule 93 of its rules of procedure, * Adopted by the Committee at its 132nd session (28 June-23 July 2021). ** The following members of the Committee participated in the examination of the communication: Wafaa Ashraf Moharram Bassim, Yadh Ben Achour, Arif Bulkan, Mahjoub El Haiba, Kobauyah Kpatcha Tchamdja, Carlos Gómez Martínez, Duncan Laki Muhumuza, Photini Pazartzis, Hernán Quezada, Vasilka Sancin, José Manuel Santos Pais, Changrok Soh, Hélène Tigroudja, Imeru Tamerat Yigezu, and Gentian Zyberi

Select target paragraph3