CCPR/C/119/D/2185/2012 United Nations International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights Distr.: General 5 May 2017 Original: English Human Rights Committee Views adopted by the Committee under article 5 (4) of the Optional Protocol, concerning communication No. 2185/2012*, ** Communication submitted by: Bimala Dhakal, Rabindra Dhakal and Manjima Dhakal (represented by counsel, Philip Grant, of Track Impunity Always (TRIAL)) Alleged victims: The authors and Rajendra Dhakal (husband, father and brother of the authors, respectively) State party: Nepal Date of communication: 31 January 2012 (initial submission) Document references: Decision taken pursuant to rule 97 of the Committee’s rules of procedure, transmitted to the State party on 2 August 2012 (not issued in document form) Date of adoption of Views: 17 March 2017 Subject matter: Enforced disappearance Procedural issue: Exhaustion of domestic remedies Substantive issues: Right to life; torture and cruel and inhuman treatment; right to liberty and security of person; respect for the inherent dignity of the human person; recognition as a person before the law; right of the child to measures of protection; and right to an effective remedy Articles of the Covenant: 2 (3), 6, 7, 9, 10, 16 and 24 (1) Article of the Optional Protocol: 5 (2) (b) 1. The authors of the communication are Bimala, Rabindra and Manjima Dhakal, the wife, brother and daughter of Rajendra Dhakal, respectively. They submitted the communication on their own behalf and that of Rajendra Dhakal. They are nationals of Nepal born on 27 August 1970, 25 September 1971, 29 September 1990 and 13 November * Adopted by the Committee at its 119th session (6-29 March 2017). ** The following members of the Committee participated in the examination of the communication: Tania María Abdo Rocholl, Yadh Ben Achour, Ilze Brands Kehris, Ahmed Amin Fathalla, Olivier de Frouville, Christof Heyns, Yuji Iwasawa, Bamariam Koita, Marcia V.J. Kran, Duncan Laki Muhumuza, Photini Pazartzis, Mauro Politi, José Manuel Santos Pais, Anja Seibert-Fohr, Yuval Shany and Margo Waterval. GE.17-07256(E) 

Select target paragraph3