United Nations

International Covenant on
Civil and Political Rights

Distr.: General
24 August 2021
Original: English

Human Rights Committee

Decision adopted by the Committee under the Optional
Protocol, concerning communication No. 3266/2018*, **
Communication submitted by:

H.G. (represented by counsel, Charlotta

Alleged victim:

The author

State party:


Date of communication:

19 November 2018 (initial submission)

Document references:

Decision taken pursuant to rule 92 of the
Committee’s rules of procedure, transmitted to
the State party on 19 November 2018 (not issued
in document form)

Date of adoption of decision:

23 July 2021

Subject matter:

Deportation to Afghanistan

Procedural issues:

Exhaustion of domestic remedies; level of
substantiation of claims

Substantive issues:

Torture; cruel, inhuman or degrading treatment
or punishment; right to family life

Articles of the Covenant:

7 and 17

Articles of the Optional Protocol:

2 and 5 (2) (b)

The author of the communication is H.G., a national of Afghanistan born on 6 January
1999. He claims that by deporting him to Afghanistan, the State party would violate his rights
under articles 7 and 17 of the Covenant. The Optional Protocol entered into force for the State
party on 23 March 1976. The author is represented by counsel.
On 19 November 2018, pursuant to rule 94 of its rules of procedure, the Committee,
acting through its Special Rapporteur on new communications and interim measures,
requested the State party not to deport the author to Afghanistan while his case was under
consideration by the Committee.

* Adopted by the Committee at its 132nd session (28 June–23 July 2021).
** The following members of the Committee participated in the examination of the communication:
Tania María Abdo Rocholl, Wafaa Ashraf Moharram Bassim, Yadh Ben Achour, Arif Bulkan,
Mahjoub El Haiba, Furuya Shuichi, Carlos Gómez Martínez, Duncan Laki Muhumuza, Photini
Pazartzis, Hernán Quezada Cabrera, Vasilka Sancin, José Manuel Santos Pais, Soh Changrok,
Kobauyah Tchamdja Kpatcha, Hélène Tigroudja, Imeru Tamerat Yigezu and Gentian Zyberi.


Select target paragraph3