CCPR/C/130/D/2160/2012 United Nations International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights Distr.: General 1 February 2021 Original: English Human Rights Committee Views adopted by the Committee under article 5 (4) of the Optional Protocol, concerning communication No. 2160/2012*, ** Communication submitted by: Bakhadyr Dzhuraev (represented by counsel, Khusanbai Saliev) Alleged victim: The author State party: Kyrgyzstan Date of communication: 20 April 2012 (initial submission) Document references: Decision taken pursuant to rule 92 of the Committee’s rules of procedure, transmitted to the State party on 12 June 2012 (not issued in document form) Date of adoption of Views: 29 October 2020 Subject matter: Torture; arbitrary detention; denial of fair trial; discrimination on the ground of ethnic origin Procedural issue: Exhaustion of domestic remedies Substantive issues: Torture; arbitrary detention; denial of fair trial; discrimination on the ground of ethnic origin Articles of the Covenant: 2 (3) (a), 7, 9 (1), 14 (1) and (3) (e) and (g) and 26 Articles of the Optional Protocol: 2 and 5 (2) (b) 1. The author of the communication is Bakhadyr Dzhuraev, a Kyrgyz national of Uzbek ethnicity, born in 1974. He claims to be a victim of violations by Kyrgyzstan of article 7, read alone and in conjunction with article 2 (3) (a); and articles 9 (1), 14 (1) and (3) (e) and (g) and 26 of the Covenant. The Optional Protocol entered into force for the State party on 7 January 1995. The author is represented by counsel. Facts as submitted by the author 2.1 On 29 October 2010, the Kara-Suu district court sentenced the author to 25 years’ imprisonment for having organized riots, destroyed property, used illegal firearms and * Adopted by the Committee at its 130th session (12 October–6 November 2020). ** The following members of the Committee participated in the examination of the communication: Yadh Ben Achour, Arif Bulkan, Ahmed Amin Fathalla, Furuya Schuichi, Christoph Heyns, David H. Moore, Marcia V.J. Kran, Duncan Laki Muhumuza, Photini Pazartzis, Hernán Quezada Cabrera, Vasilka Sancin, José Manuel Santos Pais, Yuval Shany, Hélène Tigroudja, Andreas Zimmermann and Gentian Zyberi. GE.21-01263(E)

Select target paragraph3