United Nations

International Covenant on
Civil and Political Rights

Distr.: General
16 December 2021
Original: English

Advance unedited version

Human Rights Committee

Views adopted by the Committee under article 5 (4) of the
Optional Protocol, concerning communication No. 2623/2015
Communication submitted by:

S.K. (represented by counsel, Lina Anani)

Alleged victim:

The author

State party:


Date of communication:

23 June 2015 (initial submission)

Document references:

Decision taken pursuant to rules 92 and 94 of the
Committee’s rules of procedure, transmitted to
the State party on 23 June 2015 (not issued in
document form)

Date of adoption of views:

27 October 2021

Subject matter:

Deportation to Iran

Procedural issues:

Exhaustion of domestic remedies; level of
substantiation of claims

Substantive issues:

Right to life; torture; cruel, inhuman or
degrading treatment or punishment; liberty of
person; right to defence; right to freedom of
thought, conscience and religion; right to an
effective remedy

Articles of the Covenant:

2 (3), 6, 7, 10, 14 (3) (b) and 18

Articles of the Optional Protocol:

2 and 5 (2) (b)

The author of the communication is Mr. S.K., a national of Iran born in 1983. His
application for asylum has been rejected. The author claims that his deportation to Iran would
amount to a violation of his rights under articles 2 (3), 6, 7, 10, 14 (3) (b) and 18 of the

* Adopted by the Committee at its 133rd session (11 October – 5 November 2021).
** The following members of the Committee participated in the examination of the communication:
Wafaa Ashraf Moharram Bassim,Yadh Ben Achour, Mahjoub El Haiba, Shuichi Furuya, Carlos
Gomez Martinez, Duncan Laki Muhumuza, Photini Pazartzis, Vasilka Sancin, José Manuel Santos
Pais, Changrok Soh, Kobauyah Kpatcha Tchamdja, Hélène Tigroudja, Imeru Tamaret Yigezu and
Gentian Zyberi. Pursuant to rule 108 (1) (a) of the Committee’s rules of procedure, Marcia V.J. Kran
did not participate in the examination of the communication.
*** Individual opinions by Committee members Yadh Ben Achour, Duncan Laki Muhumuza, José
Manuel Santos Pais, Kobauyah Kpatcha Tchamdja and Hélène Tigroudja (dissenting) are annexed to
the present Views.

Select target paragraph3