United Nations

International Covenant on
Civil and Political Rights

Distr.: General
24 May 2018
Original: English

Human Rights Committee

Views adopted by the Committee under article 5 (4)
of the Optional Protocol, concerning
communication No. 2252/2013*, **
Communication submitted by:

Annadurdy Khadzhiyev, on his own behalf and
on that of his sister, Ogulsapar Muradova
(represented by counsel, Rupert Skilbeck, of the
Open Society Justice Initiative)

Alleged victims:

The author and his sister

State party:


Date of communication:

9 April 2013 (initial submission)

Document references:

Decision taken pursuant to rule 97 of the
Committee’s rules of procedure, transmitted to
the State party on 12 June 2013 (not issued in
document form)

Date of adoption of Views:

6 April 2018

Subject matters:

Torture; death in custody

Procedural issue:

Non-substantiation of the claims

Substantive issues:

Torture; prompt and impartial investigation of
torture; right to life; arbitrary arrest or detention;
fair trial; presumption of innocence; adequate
time and facilities to prepare a defence; legal
assistance for a fair trial; right to appeal

Articles of the Covenant:

6 (1) and 7, read alone and in conjunction with 2
(2) and (3); 9 (1) and (3); 14 (1), (2), (3) (b) and
(d) and (5); and 19

Article of the Optional Protocol:


The author of the communication is Annadurdy Khadzhiyev, a national of
Turkmenistan born in 1957, who is submitting the communication on his own behalf and
on that of his sister, Ogulsapar Muradova, also a national of Turkmenistan born in 1948.
Ms. Muradova was detained and died in custody in 2006. The author claims that the State
party has violated their rights under articles 6 (1) and 7, read alone and in conjunction with
* Adopted by the Committee at its 122nd session (12 March–6 April 2018).
** The following members of the Committee participated in the examination of the communication:
Yadh Ben Achour, Ilze Brands Kehris, Ahmed Amin Fathalla, Olivier de Frouville, Christof Heyns,
Yuji Iwasawa, Ivana Jelić, Bamariam Koita, Marcia V.J. Kran, Duncan Laki Muhumuza, Photini
Pazartzis, Mauro Politi, José Manuel Santos Pais, Yuval Shany and Margo Waterval.



Select target paragraph3