CCPR/C/123/D/2423/2014 United Nations International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights Distr.: General 7 September 2018 Original: English Human Rights Committee Views adopted by the Committee under article 5 (4) of the Optional Protocol, concerning communication No. 2423/2014*, **, *** Communication submitted by: K.H. (represented by counsel, Niels-Erik Hansen) Alleged victim: The author State party: Denmark Date of communication: 14 April 2014 (initial submission) Document references: Decision taken pursuant to rule 97 of the Committee’s rules of procedure, transmitted to the State party on 11 June 2014 (not issued in document form) Date of adoption of Views: 16 July 2018 Subject matter: Deportation to the Islamic Republic of Iran Procedural issues: Level of substantiation of claims Substantive issues: Risk of torture or cruel, inhuman or degrading treatment or punishment; non-refoulement Articles of the Covenant: 2, 6, 7, 13, 14 and 26 Article of the Optional Protocol: 2 1.1 The author of the communication is K.H., a national of the Islamic Republic of Iran born on 18 May 1988. He is seeking asylum in Denmark and is subject to deportation to the Islamic Republic of Iran following the Danish authorities’ rejection of his application for refugee status. He claims that by forcibly deporting him to the Islamic Republic of Iran, Denmark would violate his rights under articles 6 and 7 of the Covenant. He also claims that his rights under articles 2, 13, 14 and 26 of the Covenant have been violated in connection with the hearing of his asylum case by the Danish authorities. The Optional Protocol entered into force for Denmark on 23 March 1976. The author is represented by counsel. * Adopted by the Committee at its 123rd session (2−27 July 2018). ** The following members of the Committee participated in the examination of the communication: Tania María Abdo Rocholl, Yadh Ben Achour, Ilze Brands Kehris, Sarah Cleveland, Ahmed Amin Fathalla, Olivier de Frouville, Christof Heyns, Bamariam Koita, Marcia V.J. Kran, Mauro Politi, José Manuel Santos Pais, Yuval Shany and Margo Waterval. *** An individual opinion by Committee members Christof Heyns, Marcia V.J. Kran and Yuval Shany is annexed to the present Views. GE.18-14769(E) 

Select target paragraph3