United Nations

International Covenant on
Civil and Political Rights

Distr.: General
31 August 2018
Original: English

Human Rights Committee

Decision adopted by the Committee under the Optional
Protocol, concerning communication No. 2232/2013*, **
Communication submitted by:

A.S. (represented by counsel, Irina Biryukova)

Alleged victim:

The author

State party:

The Russian Federation

Date of communication:

12 January 2013 (initial submission)

Document references:

Decision taken pursuant to rule 97 of the
Committee’s rules of procedure, transmitted to
the State party on 15 January 2013 (not issued in
document form)

Date of adoption of decision:

19 July 2018

Subject matter:

Extradition to Uzbekistan

Procedural issue:

Non-exhaustion of domestic remedies

Substantive issues:

Torture, unlawful detention

Articles of the Covenant:

7, 9, 14 (3)

Articles of the Optional Protocol:

2, 5 (2) (b)

The author of the communication is A.S., a national of Uzbekistan born in 1981. He
claims that the Russian Federation has violated his rights under articles 9 and 14 (3) of the
Covenant and would violate his rights under article 7 of the Covenant if he is extradited to
his native Uzbekistan. The Optional Protocol entered into force for the State party on 1
January 1992. The author is represented by counsel.
When submitting the communication on 12 January 2013, the author asked the
Committee to consider issuing interim measures pursuant to rule 92 of its rules of
procedure to prevent his extradition to Uzbekistan. On 13 January 2013, the Committee,
acting through its Special Rapporteur on new communications and interim measures,
denied this request.
The facts as submitted by the author
The author was arrested in Moscow on 13 January 2012 based on an extradition
request from the authorities in Uzbekistan. In Uzbekistan, the author had been charged with
* Adopted by the Committee at its 123rd session (2−27 July 2018).
** The following members of the Committee participated in the examination of the present
communication: Tania María Abdo Rocholl, Yadh Ben Achour, Ilze Brands Kehris, Sarah Cleveland,
Ahmed Amin Fathalla, Olivier de Frouville, Christof Heyns, Bamariam Koita, Marcia V.J. Kran,
Duncan Laki Muhumuza, Mauro Politi, José Manuel Santos Pais, Yuval Shany and Margo Waterval.



Select target paragraph3