CCPR/C/119/D/2593/2015 United Nations International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights Distr.: General 12 May 2017 Original: English Human Rights Committee Views adopted by the Committee under article 5 (4) of the Optional Protocol, concerning communication No. 2593/2015*, ** Communication submitted by: M.Z.B.M. (represented by counsel, Gunnar Homann) Alleged victim: The author State party: Denmark Date of communication: 31 March 2015 (initial submission) Document references: Decision taken pursuant to rules 92 and 97 of the Committee’s rules of procedure, transmitted to the State party on 1 April 2015 (not issued in document form) Date of adoption of Views: 20 March 2017 Subject matter: Deportation of a transgender woman to Malaysia Procedural issues: Non-substantiation of claims; inadmissibility ratione loci and ratione materiae Substantive issues: Risk of torture or ill-treatment; arbitrary or unlawful interference with privacy; freedom of thought, conscience and religion; equality before the law; prohibition of discrimination Articles of the Covenant: 7, read in conjunction with 17 (1), 18 (1) and 26 Articles of the Optional Protocol: 2 and 3 1.1 The author of the communication is M.Z.B.M., a national of Malaysia born in 1977. She claims that her forcible return to Malaysia would violate her rights under article 7, read in conjunction with articles 17 (1), 18 (1) and 26, of the Covenant. She is represented by counsel. The Optional Protocol entered into force for the State party on 23 March 1976. 1.2 On 1 April 2015, pursuant to rule 92 of its rules of procedure, the Committee, acting through its Special Rapporteur on new communications and interim measures, requested * Adopted by the Committee at its 119th session (6 March-29 March 2017). ** The following members of the Committee participated in the examination of the communication: Tania María Abdo Rocholl, Yadh Ben Achour, Ilze Brands Kehris, Ahmed Amin Fathalla, Olivier de Frouville, Christof Heyns, Yuji Iwasawa, Bamariam Koita, Marcia V.J. Kran, Duncan Laki Muhumuza, Photini Pazartzis, Mauro Politi, José Manuel Santos Pais, Anja Seibert-Fohr, Yuval Shany and Margo Waterval. GE.17-07669(E) 

Select target paragraph3