CCPR/C/130/D/2843/2016* United Nations International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights Distr.: General 5 March 2021 English Original: French Human Rights Committee Views adopted by the Committee under article 5 (4) of the Optional Protocol, concerning communication No. 2843/2016**, *** Communication submitted by: Fatima Rsiwi (represented by counsel from Fondation Alkarama) Alleged victims: The author and Sadek Rsiwi (the husband of the author) State party: Algeria Date of communication: 7 September 2016 (initial submission) Document references: Decision taken pursuant to rule 92 of the Committee’s rules of procedure, transmitted to the State party on 8 November 2016 (not issued in document form) Date of adoption of Views: 19 October 2020 Subject matter: Enforced disappearance Procedural issue: Exhaustion of domestic remedies Substantive issues: Right to an effective remedy; cruel, inhuman or degrading treatment or punishment; liberty and security of person; human dignity; recognition as a person before the law Articles of the Covenant: 2 (2) and (3), 6 (1), 7, 9, 10 (1), 16, 19 and 23 (1) Articles of the Optional Protocol: 2, 3 and 5 (2) 1. The author of the communication is Fatima Rsiwi, a national of Algeria. She claims that her husband, Sadek Rsiwi, born in 1942 and also a national of Algeria, is the victim of an enforced disappearance attributable to the State party, in violation of articles 2 (3), 6, 7, 9, 10, 16 and 23 (1) of the Covenant. The author maintains that she herself is the victim of a violation of her rights under articles 2 (3), 7 and 23 (1) of the Covenant. Lastly, she claims that, because of its domestic legislation, the State party is in breach of its general obligation under article 2 (2), read in conjunction with articles 2 (3) and 19 of the Covenant. The Covenant and the Optional Protocol to the Covenant entered into force for the State party on 12 December 1989. The author is represented by counsel from Fondation Alkarama. * Reissued for technical reasons (11 March 2021). ** Adopted by the Committee at its 130th session (12 October–6 November 2020). *** The following members of the Committee participated in the examination of the communication: Yadh Ben Achour, Arif Bulkan, Ahmed Amin Fathalla, Furuya Shuichi, Christof Heyns, Bamariam Koita, David H. Moore, Duncan Laki Muhumuza, Hernán Quezada Cabrera, Vasilka Sancin, José Manuel Santos Pais, Yuval Shany, Hélène Tigroudja, Andreas Zimmermann and Gentian Zyberi. GE.21-03102 (E) 310321 310321

Select target paragraph3