United Nations

International Covenant on
Civil and Political Rights

Distr.: General
29 June 2018
Original: English

Human Rights Committee

Views adopted by the Committee under article 5 (4) of
the Optional Protocol, concerning communication No.
2642/2015*, **
Communication submitted by:

S. (not represented by counsel)

Alleged victim:

The author

State party:


Date of communication:

19 June 2014 (initial submission)

Document references:

Decision taken pursuant to rule 97 of the
Committee’s rules of procedure, transmitted to
the State party on 17 August 2015 (not issued in
document form)

Date of adoption of Views:

26 March 2018

Subject matter:

Deportation to Bangladesh

Procedural issue:

Lack of substantiation

Substantive issues:

Torture; cruel, inhuman or degrading treatment
or punishment; refoulement

Articles of the Covenant:

1, 7 and 9

Article of the Optional Protocol:


The author of the communication is S., a national of Bangladesh born on 6
December 1983. He claims that his rights under articles 1, 7 and 9 of the Covenant will be
violated if he is to be returned to Bangladesh by the State party. The Optional Protocol
entered into force for Denmark on 23 March 1976. The author is not represented by counsel.
On 17 August 2015, pursuant to rule 92 of its rules of procedure, the Committee,
acting through its Special Rapporteur on new communications and interim measures,
requested the State party to refrain from deporting the author to Bangladesh while his case
was under consideration by the Committee. On 4 September 2015, following the
Committee’s request to the State party to refrain from deporting the author, the Refugee
Appeals Board suspended the time limit for the author’s departure from Denmark.

* Adopted by the Committee as its 122nd session (12 March–6 April 2018).
** The following members of the Committee participated in the examination of the communication:
Yadh Ben Achour, Ilze Brands Kehris, Sarah Cleveland, Ahmed Amin Fathalla, Olivier de Frouville,
Ivana Jelić, Bamariam Koita, Photini Pazartzis, Mauro Politi, José Manuel Santos Pais, Yuval Shany
and Margo Waterval.



Select target paragraph3