CAT/C/71/D/874/2018 United Nations Convention against Torture and Other Cruel, Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment Distr.: General 13 September 2021 Original: English Committee against Torture Decision adopted by the Committee under article 22 of the Convention, concerning communication No. 874/2018*, ** Communication submitted by: A.J.E. (represented by counsel, John Persson) Alleged victim: The complainant State party: Sweden Date of complaint: 19 April 2018 (initial submission) Document references: Decision taken pursuant to rules 114 and 115 of the Committee’s rules of procedure, transmitted to the State party on 5 June 2018 (not issued in document form) Date of adoption of decision: 22 July 2021 Subject matter: Deportation to Afghanistan Procedural issue: Level of substantiation of claims Substantive issue: Risk of torture upon return to country of origin (non-refoulement) Article of the Convention: 3 1.1 The complainant is A.J.E., a national of Afghanistan born in 1990. He claims that his deportation to Afghanistan by the State party would constitute a violation of his rights under article 3 of the Convention. The State party has made the declaration pursuant to article 22 (1) of the Convention, effective from 8 April 1986. The complainant is represented by counsel. 1.2 On 5 June 2018, pursuant to rule 114 of its rules of procedure, the Committee, acting through its Rapporteur on new complaints and interim measures, asked the State party not to expel the complainant while the complaint was being considered. Factual background 2.1 The complainant was born a Muslim, and he sought asylum in Sweden in 2015. As of the second quarter of 2016, he had started studying the Bible with the Jehovah’s Witnesses and attending meetings twice per week. He also had weekly personal Bible study with one of the members of the congregation. In March 2018, he was appointed an “unbaptized * Adopted by the Committee at its seventy-first session (12–30 July 2021). ** The following members of the Committee participated in the examination of the communication: Essadia Belmir, Claude Heller, Erdoğan İşcan, Liu Huawen, Ilvija Pūce, Diego Rodríguez-Pinzón, Sébastien Touzé, Bakhtiyar Tuzmukhamedov and Peter Vedel Kessing. GE.21-12734(E)

Select target paragraph3