United Nations


Convention against Torture
and Other Cruel, Inhuman
or Degrading Treatment
or Punishment

Distr.: General
14 June 2017
Original: English

Advance unedited version
Committee against Torture

Communication No. 716/2015


Decision adopted by the Committee at its sixtieth session
(18 April – 12 May 2017)




Submitted by:

S.T. (represented by counsel, John Phillip
Sweeney from the Edmund Rice Centre)

Alleged victim:

The complainant

State party:


Date of complaint:

23 October 2015 (initial submission)

Date of present decision:

11 May 2017

Subject matter:

Deportation to Sri Lanka

Procedural issues:

Level of substantiation of claims,

Substantive issues:

Non-refoulement; Risk of torture upon return to
country of origin

Articles of the Convention:


The following members of the Committee took part in the consideration of the communication:
Essadia Belmir, Alessio Bruni, Felice Gaer, Abdelwahab Hani, Claude Heller-Rouassant, Jens
Modvig, Sapana Pradhan-Malla, Ana Racu, Sébastien Touzé and Kening Zhang.

Select target paragraph3